SOME THOUGHTS FROM THE PHOTOGRAPHERS

We’d like to thank the Gia Định photographers club for letting us use their photos for the exhibition. Through those images, they provide us with their views and impressions on the development of their city.


Dinh Quang Tuan

Thành Phố Sài Gòn năng động và hiện đại luôn luôn đổi mới (2013)

Saigon. I’ve lived here for over 30 years and witnessed all the changes, transformations of this dynamic, vibrant and modern city. Saigon is still beautiful in my eyes. I love Saigon

Hu Nguyễn Ngọc Quyên

Thuyen Hoa Dau Xuan 1

A boat full of flowers to welcome the springtime – In the spring atmosphere, this image of a boat full of flowers moving forward in front of the Bitexco Financial Tower with its red and gold flag flying seems to represent Việt Nam surging towards prosperity and power.

Trần Thiên Sinh

Sinh-P1060737

Tide of humanity on two wheels – Motor-bikes and motor-cycles are an essential means of transport in this city. After a long day’s work, many people are in a hurry to get home and the traffic is very heavy. This picture captures the reality the urban transportion in HCMC.

MAX

_MAX9191_b

This is the photo of Saigon that I love the most because of the sinuous shape of the Nhiêu Lộc-Thị Nghè creek, which resembles the body of a dragon, and which after 10 years of redevelopment has become a new marker of Saigon and Việt Nam in general.. I take a kind of pride in the fact that nature has adorned my country with a special kind of beauty which is difficult to find in other countries..


The creek is more beautiful and less polluted since its redevelopment, but it’s not yet quite as I would like it to be. Sometimes I daydream about the next stage of development for this waterway:

« Along the streets on each bank of the creek, there are rows of houses of uniformly Vietnamese architecture. On the water, little boats sliding lazily along carrying tourists listening to soft folk songs sung by girls wearing áo dàis. Places of recreation and Vietnamese food stalls are scattered everywhere and in the clear water you can see fish swimming in joyful colours.»

Can this daydream become a reality? Yes, I think it can, if all the inhabitants of Saigon work to preserve the innate beauty of this city, so that one day this creek can become the living dragon of HCMC, instead of just a vague outline we see in this photo.


I love Saigon with all my heart and I’ll continue photographing it until the end of my days.

Lê Anh Khoa

57

City children – This photo was taken one afternoon in District 2, where urbanisation has taken over the former farmland. Two children play and look towards the new houses.

Lê Bảo Ngọc

_MG_3655

Saigon, my city – Saigon-HCMC, located in the south of Việt Nam, is a major economic and socio-political centre today, just as it has been in the past. Blessed with an always moderate climate, its main geographical feature is the dense network of rivers, creeks and canals which run through it, a feature that makes it an important commercial port, not only in southern Việt Nam, but also in Southeast Asia.


The Nhiêu Lộc-Thị Nghè creek, which meanders through Tân Bình District, District 3 and District 1 before draining into the Saigon River, is very typical of the city’s waterways. Since its refurbishment, it has become one of the most beautiful waterways in the city and even in the country. With the Tàu Hủ-Bến Nghé creek (also recently refurbished), it has become one of the most enjoyable urban spaces in Saigon.

Jet Huynh

9539539904_0857205fb3_o

I really love this picture because it depicts a view of the centre of HCMC with very soft green space in the foreground. I really hope that the city will continue to develop its green spaces to improve the quality of life for its residents.


header-image02
header-image03
header-image04
logo Agence n2 couleur
footer-image02

REGARDS DE PHOTOGRAPHES

Nous remercions le club des photographes de Gia Định qui nous a confié leurs photographies pour l’exposition. Ils nous livrent leurs impressions et leurs regards sur le développement de leur ville à travers une photo.


Dinh Quang Tuan

Thành Phố Sài Gòn năng động và hiện đại luôn luôn đổi mới (2013)

Saigon, ça fait plus de 30 ans que je vis là et témoigne les évolutions, les tournants de cette ville dynamique, animée et moderne. Saigon est toujours belle à mes yeux. J’aime Saigon.

Hu Nguyễn Ngọc Quyên

Thuyen Hoa Dau Xuan 1

Bateau fleuri au début du printemps – Dans l’atmosphère printanière, l’image du bateau fleuri s’avançant avec son drapeau rouge à étoile jaune et flanqué de la Tour en Bouton de Lotus (Bitexco Financial Tower) représente le Vietnam en pleine progression vers la prospérité et la puissance.

Trần Thiên Sinh

Sinh-P1060737

Flux humain – Le flux humain après une journée de travail. Le moyen de déplacement constitue essentiellement des deux-roues motorisés. Les gens sont nombreux et pressés. La circulation est très dense. Cette photo reflète l’identité du système de transport urbain à HCMV.

MAX

_MAX9191_b

C’est la photo de Saigon que j’aime le plus à cause de ces lignes ondulées tel un dragon, que se dessine sur le canal Nhiêu Lộc – Thị Nghè qui, après 10 ans de réaménagement, est devenu le nouveau marqueur de Saigon et du Vietnam en général. Je tire une sorte de fierté du fait que la nature a paré mon pays de cette beauté particulière qu’on ne retrouve pas forcément ailleurs dans d’autres pays.


Le canal est plus beau et moins pollué après les travaux de réaménagement, mais pas encore tout à fait comme je le voudrais. Quelque fois je me représente en pensée la scène suivante de ce canal:

« De chaque côté du canal, le long de la rue qui le borde, une rangée de maisons d’architecture uniformément vietnamienne, et sur le canal des petits bateaux mouches glissant nonchalamment sur l’eau avec leurs passagers touristes qui écoutent de doux airs folkloriques entonnés par des jeunes filles en ao dai. Des points de récréation et de gastronomies typiquement vietnamiennes jonchent le parcours, et dans l’eau limpide on voit nager des poissons aux coloris joyeux… »
Ceci peut-il devenir réalité ?


Je pense que oui, si tous les habitants de Saigon daignent s’y mettre pour bâtir et préserver cette beauté, pour qu’un jour ce canal devienne un dragon vivant de Hô Chi Minh Ville au lieu d’en rester seulement une vague image comme nous voyons sur la photo.


J’aime Saigon de tout mon cœur et je la photographierai jusqu’à la fin de ma vie.

Lê Anh Khoa

57

Enfants urbains – Cette photo a été prise un après-midi dans le district 2, là où l’urbanisation gagne sur le terrain agricole et sur les aires de jeux d’enfant. Deux enfants jouent et regardent vers les nouvelles maisons.

Lê Bảo Ngọc

_MG_3655

Saigon, ma ville – Saigon-Hô Chi Minh Ville, située dans le Sud du Viêtnam, est un centre économique et politico-social primordial du Vietnam aujourd’hui comme par le passé. D’un climat toujours modéré, sa principale caractéristique géographique réside dans le réseau très dense de rivières et d’arroyos qui la sillonne, caractéristique qui en fait un important port commercial, non seulement à l’échelle du Sud Vietnam, mais aussi à l’échelle de l’Asie du Sud-Est. L’arroyo Nhiêu Lôc-Thi Nghe avec ses méandres traversant les districts Tân Binh, 3 et 1 pour se déverser dans la rivière Saigon, est l’un des cours d’eau typique de Saigon Hô Chi Minh Ville. Après son réaménagement, il est devenu l’un des plus beaux canaux de la Ville et même de tout le pays. Avec le canal Tau Hu-Bên Nghe (récemment réaménagé aussi), il est devenu aujourd’hui un des espaces urbains les plus agréables de Saigon.

Jet Huynh

9539539904_0857205fb3_o

J’aime bien cette photo puisqu’elle montre le panorama du centre de HCMV avec les espaces verts très doux. J’espère que la ville va continuer à développer d’espaces verts pour améliorer la qualité de vie de ses habitants.


header-image02
header-image03
header-image04
logo Agence n2 couleur
footer-image02