THE CITY AND WATER

The historic photos presented here help to shed light on the evolution of the skyline and modes of life in Ho Chi Minh City from the end of the 19th century to the mid-20th century. We’d like to thank the Institut d’Asie Orientale (Eastern Asia Institute) for making their image collections available to the exhibition organisers.

Saigon – a panaroma of the arroyo Chinois and swing bridge

This photo, which probably dates from around 1900, is taken from the mouth of the arroyo Chinois (Bến Nghé creek), probably the top of the Signal Mast. The camera is facing west towards Chợ Lớn. The swing bridge visible in the foreground is a demonstration of technical efforts at that time to connect the two banks of the creek without affecting waterway traffic, which was indispensable along this important axis. The bridge could turn as shown in the picture to permit high-masted vessels to pass through.

1.19
© Institut d’Asie Orientale

Aerial view of the arroyo Chinois

This photograph, showing an aerial view of the mouth of the arroyo Chinois, dates from 1930-1940 – that period is evidenced by the presence of the second Banque de l’Indochine building constructed to a design by architect Félix Dumail between 1924 and 1928. It is also possible to see the swing bridge and behind it the earlier “fixed” bridge, the pont des Messageries maritimes. The left bank of the creek seems to have a large number of small boats, unlike the right bank. One reason for this relates to the fact that the left bank was the first to be urbanised and thus has a greater concentration of housing and commercial installations.

1.1
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Khánh hội and Mống bridges

This aerial view of the mouth of the arroyo Chinois taken by Raymond Cauchetier in 1955 shows that despite some modernisation (construction of the Bastos warehouse and replacement of the original swing bridge by a new one), the spatial configuration remained unchanged from what it had been in the early 20th century, with the busy sight of vessels on both sides of the river, roads built alongside the creek and a proliferationof buildings serving an economic function (warehouses and financial institutions). In this period, the arroyo still played the role of a vital waterway connecting Saigon and Chợ Lớn.

1.2
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Saigon: The arroyo Chinois and its traditional houses

This picture, taken by Emile Gsell in 1866 during the first days of French colonisation, shows one of Saigon’s waterways before urbanisation. The houses on the bank clearly belonged to the owners of the vessels.

1.3
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

A view of an arroyo in Chợ Lớn

This picture, taken by Georges Victor Planté in 1906, shows the state of the arroyos in the absence of urbanisation. However, they are far from devoid of settlement, as evidenced by the construction of thatched, stilted wooden houses along the banks. The economic activity of their inhabitants was largely orientated towards the exploitation of aquatic resources, including fisheries, highlighting the second economic function of the creeks and canals.

1.4
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cochinchina. Chợ Lớn. View of the arroyo Chinois

The location of this undated image (c1900-1910) by famous photographer Poujade de Ladeveze is difficult to pinpoint, although the greater degree of urbanisation on the left of the picture suggests that it was taken facing the direction of the mouth of the arroyo. The photograph again shows the space along the banks occupied by those who make their living on or near the water. Among the boats in the picture, some serve as houseboats and are always docked next to the shore, recognisable by their domed roofs. In addition, there are larger vessels carrying grain, which are used solely for commercial purposes and not as living accommodation.

Like the waterways, the shoreline is also spatially organised, with clearly defined functions. Close to the riverbank are smaller warehouses and bags of grain drying in the open. A little further away from the creek are residential one-or two-storied buildings. According to the principle of “economic” space management, it seems normal that the immediate vicinity of the arroyo is reserved for warehouses.

1.5
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Chợ Lớn: The arroyo Chinois.

This picture was taken in 1909 and retrieved from the collection of Frédéric Drouhet, then mayor of Chợ Lớn. The picture features a developed section of the arroyo with warehouses lining the quayside. Only vessels carrying grains, chiefly rice, from Chợ Lớn to the Saigon port at the mouth of the arroyo can be seen in this picture.

1.6
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Chợ Lớn: Rice processing factories along the banks of the arroyo

The picture was taken in around 1910 and shows one of the numerous rice processing factories which were built along the banks of the arroyo in Chợ Lón. The construction of these factories was needed to accommodate the growing size of rice-carrying vessels and to minimize the time taken unloading paddy and loading husked rice.

1.7
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

A fleet of junks

It is difficult to date this shot, which was taken some time between 1900 and 1919 on the left bank of the arroyo Chinois, facing the direction of its mouth at the junction of the Saigon river. It was probably taken from the pont des Messageries maritimes and in the background it is possible to make out the swing bridge and, on the left, the Signal Mast. This photo reveals a great deal about the dependence of poor people on the river and their partial use of the water surface as living splace. In addition to the “houseboats,” it is also possible to see boats for navigation such as the one on the far right of the photograph.

1.8
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Chợ Lớn: The banks of the arroyo Chinois

This photograph, undated but probably taken in the years 1910-1920, shows vividly the diversity of habitats and modes of transport on the arroyo. Along the wharf may be seen houses and warehouses, while rows of houseboats are moored immediately in front of them. As always, the centre of the arroyo is reserved for navigable vessels, which range from simple boats to large freight barges.

1.9
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Chợ Lớn: View of the arroyo Chinois

A view of the arroyo Chinois looking towards Chợ Lớn and probably dating from the period 1940-1950. This “colourised” photo shows in a dramatic way the encroachment of housing onto the water surface, thereby illustrating the waterway’s dual function as both a living space and an economic space. We notice many houseboats and houses on stilts and, in the middle of the river, other vessels for navigation and transportation of people and goods.

1.10
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

The tramway alongside the arroyo Chinois

This undated picture by Fernand Nadal was undoubtedly taken in the 1920s on the approach ramp of the pont des Malabars in Chợ Lớn. It signals the start of an era of change which would take place throughout the 20th century and spell the beginning of the end for the canal that used to serve as the key passenger and cargo transport route from Saigon to Chợ Lớn. The building of the tramway line heralded the beginnings of the gradual restructuring of the riverbank from a small, narrow and relatively inaccessible path into today’s expressway, which permits a fast, easy connection between the eastern and western parts of HCMC.

1.11
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Chợ Lớn: arroyo Chinois

The location featured in this late 1950s photograph is difficult to identify, but it shows the ongoing use of the water surface next to the bank of the arroyo for the purposes of habitation. The narrow band of stilted houses in the picture seems to be home to a population with a very precarious existence. These are not people whose survival depends on their economic activity on the arroyo (note the absence of boats) but a disadvantaged community living on the margins of a city where waterways are no longer the main arteries of communication. The habitat no longer includes houseboats but rather shacks built from recycled materials (wood and corrugated iron). Again, we note a form of hierarchy in the occupation of the land space adjacent to the arroyo, with a first level corresponding to a semi-aquatic band reserved for the poorest people and a second level where villa-type houses coexist with small apartment buildings.

1.12
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Chợ Lớn: the arroyo Chinois at Bình Tây

This photograph, undated but probably taken in the early years of the 20th century, is particularly interesting because it depicts a canal running through Chợ Lớn where the current Bình Tây Market would later be built. This canal, originally known as the canal Bonard, is now known as the rạch Bãi Sậy. Note the absence of “houseboats” on this waterway and the omnipresence of barges carrying grain. The numerous chimneys and warehouses hint that this is mainly an areas of factories and godowns.

1.13
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon. Canal Bonard

This undated picture probably dates back to the years 1940-1950 and shows a portion of the canal Bonard (rạch Bãi Sậy). In the foreground may be seen two of the bridges which crossed cross the canal and behind them the pont des Trois arches (three arched bridge), once a famous local landmark. Despite the narrowness of the waterway, habitation is still very much in evidence along the canal banks. This section of the canal has very few commercial buildings or warehouses but we note the presence of numerous residential buildings. This urban densification may be accounted for by the fact the area depicted is located in the heart of Chợ Lớn and not on its perimeter.

1.14
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Saigon: the naval port on the river

This picture taken by Emile Gsell in 1866 shows the Signal Mast on the left hand side and the scene along the Saigon river. It depicts an early stage of French colonisation when the port infrastructure was yet to be developed.

1.15
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Saigon: The port and colonial buildings

This photograph by Emile Gsell shows some of the first colonial buildings in the port area next to the Saigon River. In subsequent years two separate ports would be built, one reserved for naval vessels and the other near the mouth of the arroyo Chinois for commercial activities and river/sea-going vessels.

1.16
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

An aerial view of Saigon port

This photograph, taken by Raymond Cauchetier in 1955, shows in a vivid manner the importance of maritime trade in Saigon. In the foreground is the military port, at that time still occupied by the ships of the French Navy, while further downstream may be seen the civil and commercial port. In the distance, at the mouth of the arroyo Chinois, we see the iconic Messageries maritimes building and the imposing warehouses of the merchant port.

1.17
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Canal Thị Nghè

This 1955 photograph of the Thị Nghè creek (formerly the arroyo de l’Avalanche) by Raymond Cauchetier highlights another use of the space adjacent to waterways. Here we see no evidence of economic activity like that which developed on the arroyo Chinois. The absence of boats on the creek is significant. Instead, this photograph depicts a residential neighbourhood of small houses which are oriented away from the waterway towards the streets and alleys.

1.18
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.


header-image02
header-image03
header-image04
logo Agence n2 couleur
footer-image02

VILLES ET SITES FLUVIAUX

Les photos d’époque présentées ici constituent un éclairage sur les évolutions de la skyline et des modes de vie de Hô Chi Minh-Ville de la fin du 19ème siècle au milieu du 20ème siècle. Nous remercions l’Institut d’Asie Orientale pour la mise à disposition de leur fonds photographique pour les besoins de l’exposition.

Saïgon. Vue panoramique de l’arroyo chinois et le pont tournant.

Cette photo, qui date vraisemblablement des alentours de 1900, est prise de l’embouchure de l’arroyo chinois, sans doute au pied du mât des signaux. L’objectif du photographe est orienté vers l’ouest, en direction de Cholon. Le pont tournant visible au premier plan témoigne des efforts fournis sur le plan technique pour multiplier points de traversée entre les deux rives de l’arroyo chinois tout en ne compromettant pas le trafic fluvial essentiel sur cette artère. Ces ponts pouvaient pivoter afin de permettre le passage de navires trop hauts pour passer par en dessous.

1.19
© Institut d’Asie Orientale

Vue aérienne de l’arroyo chinois.

Ce cliché représente une vue aérienne de l’embouchure de l’arroyo chinois et date des années 1930-1940. Cette période est attestée par le fait qu’y figure le bâtiment de la Banque d’Indochine édifiée par l’architecte Félix Dumail entre 1924 et 1928. On y distingue le pont tournant avec, derrière, le pont « fixe » des Messageries maritimes . De manière tout à fait caractéristique, on note que la rive gauche de l’arroyo rassemble un grand nombre d’embarcations légères, contrairement à la rive droite. Une des raisons est liée au fait que la rive gauche a été urbanisée en premier et concentre de ce fait habitations et locaux à visée économique.

1.1
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Pont Khánh hội et pont Móng.

Vue aérienne de l’embouchure de l’arroyo chinois prise par Raymond Cauchetier en 1955. On constate qu’en dépit d’une certaine modernisation (édifications des entrepôts Bastos à gauche et remplacement de l’ancien pont tournant par un nouveau) la structuration de l’espace demeure la même qu’au début du XXe siècle avec, d’une part une large appropriation de l’espace aquatiques touchant les berges par les sampaniers et d’autre part, la mise en valeur de l’espace terrestre adjacent par la création d’une voie de communication routière et un bâti largement orienté vers l’activité économique (hangars, bâtiments financiers,…). L’arroyo garde encore à cette époque son rôle de cordon ombilical entre Cholon et Saigon.

1.2
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Saïgon : l’Arroyo Chinois et ses maisons traditionnelles.

Cette photo, prise en 1866 par Emile Gsell aux premiers temps de la colonisation française, montre l’aspect qu’avaient les canaux de Saigon avant leur urbanisation progressive. Des paillotes semilacustres cohabitent avec des embarcations de transport.

1.3
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Un Coin d’Arroyo à Cholon.

Cette photographie de Georges Victor Planté remonte au début du XXe siècle (1906), et montre l’état des arroyos en l’absence de toute urbanisation. Ils n’en sont pas pour autant dénués de tout peuplement comme en témoigne l’édification d’un habitat semi-lacustre formé de maisons construites en matière végétale. L’activité économique de ces populations devait être largement orientée vers l’exploitation des ressources aquatiques, notamment la pêche, mise en évidence de la deuxième fonction économique de l’arroyo.

1.4
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cochinchine. Cholon. Vue de l’Arroyo chinois.

Cliché non daté (1900-1910) du célèbre photographe Poujade de Ladeveze. Il est difficile de situer le lieu exact de la prise de vue bien que l’urbanisation plus grande du côté gauche laisse penser que le liché est pris en direction de l’embouchure de l’arroyo. La photo met en évidence la traditionnelle appropriation de l’espace aquatique par la population semi-lacustre. Parmi les sampans à usage d’habitation, toujours situés à proximité immédiate de la berge, certains se caractérisent par leur dôme arrondi. A un deuxième niveau d’agrégation, on remarque les barges de transport de céréales, plus larges, à vocation commerciale et non d’habitation. Comme sur l’eau, les espaces terrestres, sur la berge, apparaissent clairement spécialisés. On note au premier plan la présence de plusieurs petits hangars de stockage ainsi que de nombreux saces de céréales entreposés en plein air. Un peu plus loin se situent des immeubles d’habitation d’un ou deux étages. Dans une gestion « économique » de l’espace, il apparaît normal que la proximité immédiate de l’arroyo soit réservée aux hangars.

1.5
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon : l’Arroyo Chinois.

Cette photo, prise en 1909, est issue de la collection de F. Drouhet, maire de Cholon. Le cliché représente une portion aménagée de l’arroyo. Des quais ont été construits le long des berges et sont bordés de multiples entrepôts. On ne voit, comme navires, que les barges de transport utilisées pour acheminer les céréales, principalement du paddy, de Cholon vers le port de Saigon situé à l’embouchure de l’arroyo.

1.6
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon. Aménagement des berges au niveau des rizières.

Cette photo, prise vers les années 1910 présente l’aménagement des berges au niveau des rizeries importantes de Cholon. Ce processus était rendu indispensable par l’accroissement de la taille des barges de transport et la nécessite d’optimiser le temps de déchargement du paddy et de chargement du riz décortiqué.

1.7
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Une flotte de jonques.

Cliché difficilement datable (1900-1919) pris au niveau de la rive gauche, en direction de l’embouchure. On distingue au loin, sur la gauche du cliché, le mât des signaux et, au deuxième plan, le pont des Messageries maritimes. Cette photo est tout à fait révélatrice de l’appropriation par les habitants pauvres et dépendant économiquement de l’arroyo d’une frange de l’espace aquatique transformé, de fait, en zone d’habitat semi-lacustre. Aux « bateaux-maisons » sont accolés des bateaux à usage de navigation tel celui qui apparaît à l’extrême-droite du cliché.

1.8
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon : les berges de l’Arroyo Chinois.

Ce cliché, non daté et remontant probablement aux années 1910-1920 montre de manière saisissante la diversité des habitats et des modes de transports sur l’arroyo. Sur la rive se succèdent maisons et entrepôts, tandis que les abords immédiats de la berge abritent les bateauxmaisons. Comme toujours, le centre de la rivière est réservé aux embarcations navigantes qui vont de la simple barque à la barge de transport de marchandise.

1.9
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon. Vue de l’Arroyo Chinois.

Vue de l’arroyo chinois vers Cholon remontant probablement aux années 1940-1950. Cette photo colorisée présente de manière spectaculaire l’empiètement de l’habitat semi-lacustre sur l’espace fluvial illustrant la double fonction de la rivière, espace de vie et espace économique. On remarque de très nombreux « bateauxmaisons » « sédentaires » et, au milieu de de la rivière, d’autres embarcations destinées à la navigation et au transport des personnes et des marchandises.

1.10
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Le tramway le long de l’Arroyo Chinois

Ce cliché de Nadal, non daté mais remontant sans doute aux années 1920, est pris en amont du pont des Malabars. Il met en évidence le début de l’évolution qui va se poursuivre tout le long du XXe siècle et mettre un terme irréversible à la fonction de l’arroyo comme principal vecteur des flux économiques et humains entre Saigon et Cholon. La construction du tramway sera le prélude de la reconfiguration progressive des berges qui, de voie étroite et difficilement carrossable dans la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle deviendront les voies rapides qui permettent aujourd’hui de joindre aisément l’ouest à l’est de Hô Chi Minh-Ville.

1.11
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon – arroyo chinois.

Ce cliché, pris vers la fin des années 1950 et difficile à situer, montre la permanence de l’utilisation de l’espace aquatique jouxtant la berge de l’arroyo à des fins d’habitat semi-lacustre. Sur cette étroite bande semble se concentrer une population aux conditions de vie très précaire. Il ne s’agit plus de populations dont la survie dépend de leur activité économique sur l’arroyo (on ne note d’ailleurs pas la présence d’embarcations) mais de populations rejetées aux marges d’une cité dont la rivière n’est plus le principal poumon. L’habitat n’est pas formé de bateaux-maisons » mais de masures construites avec des matériaux de récupération (bois et tôles ondulées). Là encore, on peut noter une forme de hiérarchisation dans l’occupation de l’’espace terrestre adjacent à l’arroyo avec un premier niveau correspondant à une bande semi-aquatique réservée aux plus pauvres et un deuxième niveau où coexistent des maisons de type villa et de petits immeubles.

1.12
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon. L’arroyo chinois à Binhtay

Ce cliché, non daté mais remontant vraisemblablement au début du Xxe siècle, est particulièrement intéressant car il représente un canal affluent de l’arroyo longeant la partie de Cholon où sera édifiée quelques années plus tard le marché Binh Tay. Ce canal se nomme aujourd’hui Rạch Bãi Sậy. On remarque l’absence, sur cette portion, de « bateauxmaisons » et l’omniprésence des barges de transport de céréales. Les cheminées et les nombreux hangars laissent deviner que l’on se situe dans une zone d’usine et d’entrepôts.

1.13
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Cholon. Canal Bonnard.

Cette photo non datée mais qui remonte vraisemblablement aux années 1940-1950, montre une portion du canal Bonnard (Rạch Bãi Sậy). On distingue au premier et deuxième plan les passerelles permettant le franchissement du canal ainsi que le célèbre pont à trois branches. En dépit de l’étroitesse du cours d’eau, on note l’appropriation « sédentaire » des espaces proches des berges et l’édification d’un habitat semi-lacustre. Contrairement à la partie d l’arroyo située en aval, le canal n’est pas quasi exclusivement bordé de bâtiment à usage commercial (hangars) mais on note également la présence de nombreuses maisons d’habitations. Cette densification urbaine est liée au fait que le canal se situe au cœur du quartier de Cholon et non en bordure comme l’arroyo.

1.14
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Saïgon : le port de guerre sur la rivière.

Sur ce cliché, pris par le photographe Emile Gsell en 1866, on distingue le mât des signaux sur la gauche et la rivière de Saigon. On en est encore à cette période aux prémices de l’installation française et les installations portuaires apparaissent encore peu développées.

1.15
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Saïgon : le port et des bâtiments coloniaux.

Cette photo d’Emile Gsell montre les premiers travaux d’aménagement portuaires sur la rivière de Saigon. Au fil des années deux ports distincts seront édifiées, l’un réservé aux navires militaires et l’autre, proche de l’embouchure de l’arroyo chinois, destiné aux activités marchandes et à l’accueil des paquebots.

1.16
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Vue aérienne du port de Saigon

Ce cliché de Raymond Cauchetier pris en 1955 fait apparaître de manière saisissante la vocation maritime de Saigon. Au premier plan apparaît le port militaire encore occupé à cette époque par les navires de la marine française tandis que l’activité portuaire civile et marchande se développe un peu plus en aval. On distingue au loin, au niveau de l’embouchure de l’arroyo chinois marquée par l’emblématique bâtiment des Messageries maritimes, les imposants hangars du port marchand.

1.17
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.

Canal Thị Nghè.

Ce cliché de Raymond Cauchetier datant de 1955 met en évidence une autre forme d’utilisation de l’espace adjacent aux cours d’eau. Il n’existe pas, au niveau du canal Thị Nghè (ancien arroyo de l’Avalanche) d’activité économique semblable à celle qui s’est développée sur l’arroyo chinois. L’absence d’embarcation est sur ce point significative. Le bâti est exclusivement formé de petites maisons d’habitation dont l’orientation principale se tourne vers les rues et ruelles et non vers l’eau.

1.18
© Institut d’Asie Orientale.


header-image02
header-image03
header-image04
logo Agence n2 couleur
footer-image02